PAT History

In the beginning, there were two groups of Plymouth State employees - the faculty and the operations staff. Generally those in OS positions were the employees of Physical Plant or were departmental/campus secretaries.

The operations staff were part of a union - the State Employees’ Association - which had a different retirement system from the faculty.  They were considered state employees with the same retirement package as police officers and teachers.

Prior to officially becoming PATs, PATs had faculty senate voting rights and faculty benefit plans, but did not officially have “faculty” status. We were a group in a sort of “limbo.”

The Residence Hall directors were a segment of this non-classified group of employees that had no status at all. They had no medical benefits and no retirement plan, but they got free classes and a parking space with their name on it.  In short, there were a growing number of people that weren’t OS and weren’t faculty, and how they would be classified was of issue.

To address this issue, the PAT classification was created by the University System of NH in 1975, and to have a new group created was significant.  The “PATs”  (approx. 20 people at the time) were notified to come to a meeting in Boyd 120 to meet with President Hyde, who informed them of this new group being formed called the Professional, Administrative, and Technical staff.  Chuck Bailey, the Director of Admissions, was gravely concerned that PATs were going to be removed from the governance structure, where they currently had the opportunity to vote on matters with the faculty. How concerned Chuck was left quite an impression on John P. Clark, Associate Director of Admissions, as a young professional.

There were two factions within this new PAT group:

One faction was primarily concerned with losing their voice and voting privileges.

The other faction wanted to unionize, and they were into labor related issues

What was most important to the former group was to get recognition for the PATs on campus as a valued part of the governance structure.  In order to achieve that, John Clark worked to get them involved with campus wide issues.

John would peruse everything that faculty were doing. Whatever was all-campus in nature, John would make sure that the PATs discussed those all-campus items, like the campus calendar scheduling.  Meetings were once or twice a month, sometimes with as few as 5 members.  After each meeting, John would go to the mimeograph machine and mail the minutes to everyone on campus (approximately 100 people at the time, including faculty, OS, and PATs). It was his effort to gain recognition for the PAT group so that we wouldn’t be marginalized and left without a voice and vote in governance.

The Administrative Council (or some similarly named group) was a very important group that came out all of the constituency transitioning. It was convened around 1975 when President Hyde was still at PSC.  Faculty, staff, students, and PATs met once a month in a little lobby in Silver Hall (where the ticket booth is now).   This group discussed all campus issues, including curricular issues, and was the means for communicating and gaining clarification on topics of interest to the community.


PAT Speakers

76‑77 ‑ Chuck Bailey

77‑78 ‑ Chuck Bailey

78‑79 ‑ John Clark

79‑80 ‑ John Clark

80‑81 ‑ Barb Fahey

81‑82 ‑ Tim Keefe

82‑83 ‑ Pat Hage

83‑84 ‑ Pat Hage

84‑85 ‑ Tom Whitman

85‑86 ‑ Marlene Stuart

86‑87 ‑ Peter Hart

87‑88 ‑ Peter Hart

88‑89 ‑ Henry Bird

89‑90 ‑ Bonnie Epstein

90‑91 ‑ Sue Palmer

91‑92 ‑ Bob Kroeger

92‑93 ‑ Terri Lessard

93‑94 ‑ Ray Hutchins

94‑95 ‑ Frank Cocchiarella

95‑96 ‑ Pete Cofran

96‑97 ‑ Marianne Hunter

97‑98 ‑ Doug Norris

98-99 – Diane Jeffrey

99-00 – Heather Huckins

00-01 – Frank Cocchiarella

01-02 – Terri Potter

02-03 – Ann Thurston

03-04 – Tom Weeks

04-05 – Deb Tobine

05-06 – Jeff Furlone

06-07 – Joyce Larson

07-08 – Ann Thurston

08-09 – Rodney Ekstrom

09-10 – Joyce Larson

10-11 – Diane Jeffrey

11-12 – Heather Huckins

12 -13 – Kerry Keating

13-14 – Courtney O’Clair

14-15 – Kim Bownes

15-16 – Terri Potter

16-17 – John Scheinman

17-18 - Janette Wiggett

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *